Colorist/Editor profile on PostPerspective

Originally published on PostPerspective here.

Meet the Colorist/Editor: Tristan Kneschke

temp press photo

NAME: Tristan Kneschke

COMPANY: New York City-based Exit Editorial (www.exitedit.com)

CAN YOU DESCRIBE YOUR COMPANY?
My one-man company provides offline editorial services and specializes in color grading. I have a fully mobile DaVinci Resolve kit that I messenger around town in cases for clients without resources to put together their own system.

I set up at their facility as a way of simplifying the workflow so that editorial changes can happen in tandem, or my client can jump into a meeting nearby while I continue to work.

WHAT’S YOUR JOB TITLE?
CEO, Founding Editor and Colorist

WHAT DOES THAT ENTAIL?
In addition to performing the work of an editor and colorist, I act as my own producer, which means there’s lots of schedule balancing every week. Since my set-up is mobile I coordinate pick-up and drop-offs with messengers. If I need to set up for a job, I arrive at the facility to get everything arranged the day before so that in the morning the client and I can focus on the work without any technical issues.

WHAT WOULD SURPRISE PEOPLE THE MOST ABOUT WHAT FALLS UNDER THAT TITLE?
I regularly meet people who don’t understand what a colorist does. I tell people that it’s similar to Photoshop retouching, but for the moving image. If I have the opportunity to demo the system in front of them, I love watching them discover the magic of what’s possible.

nissan

A recent Nissan spot.

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE PART OF THE JOB?
The most exciting aspect is a job I’m really psyched about. I love working with great creatives who exhibit good taste and improve the project. Some days can be what I call a “battle for the reel,” but every once in a while all the stars align and the work becomes more than the sum of its parts.

WHAT’S YOUR LEAST FAVORITE?
I spend more time than I’d like hounding late payments.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE TIME OF THE DAY?
I think mysterious things happen at night. While I love my job and wouldn’t trade it for anything, I also have a life outside work, and it’s great to reconnect with the people that enrich my life on a weekly basis.

IF YOU DIDN’T HAVE THIS JOB, WHAT WOULD YOU BE DOING INSTEAD?
I would likely be writing or be involved with music. I do both on the side now.

WHY DID YOU CHOOSE THIS PROFESSION? HOW EARLY ON DID YOU KNOW THIS WOULD BE YOUR PATH?
My mother is a photographer and my dad is an electrical engineer. So being a colorist combines the two aspects I’ve inherited from my parents, which is artistic attention to detail coupled with a technical-minded way of studying things. I pursued the film industry because it balances these two characteristics perfectly.

I originally went to school for music, but then found I enjoyed directing films. When I got my first internship at a post house I realized I preferred that, and color grading developed out of a desire to improve the work I was cutting at the time.

colgate_kelly

Colgate with Kelly Ripa

CAN YOU NAME SOME RECENT PROJECTS YOU HAVE WORKED ON?
I’ve been working on jobs for Holiday Inn, Amazon, Target, Victoria’s Secret, Royal Caribbean and Colgate.

NAME THREE PIECES OF TECHNOLOGY YOU CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT.
My control surface (The JL Cooper Eclipse) for coloring is a must, it makes me much faster and prevents carpal tunnel! A Wacom tablet provides quicker responses than a mouse, and my Nord synthesizer because it makes the sickest sounds. Sometimes it’s just fun to see what kind of crazy stuff it can make.

WHAT SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS DO YOU FOLLOW?
In addition to postPerspective, I regularly follow news on Feedly and another industry blog, NoFilmSchool.

Leave a Reply

