Popular Fashion Looks in Resolve

This article was originally published on Premiumbeat’s blog here.

In this tutorial we take cues from fashion and glamor print and apply them to video in DaVinci Resolve.

As a colorist specializing in fashion and beauty work, I’m constantly cross-referencing still images from fashion magazine editorials to inform the polished look that has become synonymous with glamour. When asked to think beyond a generic look of healthy contrast and color saturation, I employ a few techniques that have been ported from Photoshop and brought into the moving image realm.

Skin tones, skin tones, skin tones

The majority of my job involves addressing client concerns as quickly as they are mentioned, maintaining consistency across scenes, and retaining healthy skin tones. I regularly get to the suite early to begin on an overall grade before the client comes in, but if I have a few minutes more and the spot centers around predominantly female talent, I pull skin tone keys for each shot beforehand as well.

To illustrate some concepts, I’ll be working off the following image from Shutterstock.

1_original

In the original, note that there are quite a lot of blues in the shadows. I’ve corrected for that in the second image to give us a neutral starting point. If this isn’t something you noticed, toggling between the two images will certainly make this more apparent.

2_balance

Here are the Resolve dials for my balanced image. When I corrected for the blacks and whites, the image looked a little yellow so I’ve swung the gamma accordingly:

2a_balance

Read more on PremiumBeat’s blog.

Leave a Reply

